New Books 4/8/15

18048738

No Place by Todd Strasser

“When Dan and his family go from middle class to homeless, issues of injustice rise to the forefront in this relatable, timely novel from Todd Strasser.”-Goodreads

71STxe1DUVL._SL1500_

Half Bad by Sally Green

“Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when his every action is tracked, when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?”-Half Bad World

RULE-OF-THREE

The Rule of Thre3 by Eric Walter

“One shocking afternoon, computers around the globe shut down in a viral catastrophe.  At sixteen-year-old Adam Daley’s high school, the problems at first seems to be a typical electrical outage, until the students discover the cell phones are down, municipal utilities are failing, and the only vehicles that function are a few ancient computer-free cars like Adam’s.   Driving home, Adam encounters a storm tide of anger and gear as the region becomes paralyzed.  Soon – as resources dwindle, crises mount, and chaos descends – he will see his suburban neighborhood band together for protection.  And  Adam will understand that having a police captain for a mother and a retired government spy living next door are not just the facts of his life but the keys  to survival.”-Eric Walter

15701870

Kindness for Weakness by Shawn Goodman

“James, a scrawny, thoughtful 15-year-old, is trapped in brutal penury in upstate New York. His father walked out long ago. His defeated mother, a barely functioning cocktail waitress, has brought home an abusive addict of a boyfriend. And his older brother, Louis, who left in a fury, is a muscle-bound drug dealer whom the police have in their sights.”-The New York Times

519yaI7grXL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

When We Wuz Famous by Greg Takoudes

“Francisco Ortiz, a handsome straight-A student and gifted basketball player from the barrio, wins a full scholarship to an elite boarding school. His future seems promising. But soon after Francisco moves into the dorm, his new classmates assume the worst of him: they pepper him with questions about drugs and gangs. It’s all so confusing, made even more complicated when Francisco realizes that back home in the hood, he no longer fits in, though his friends still rely on him to solve their problems. In a desperate attempt to help one of his homies, Francisco makes a terrible decision…”-Amazon

17465457

Picture Me Gone by Meg Rosoff

“This is a story about the wide, fragile web of friendships and acquaintances that sustains us – a fascinating theme for a generation whose Facebook groups can seem more immediate than their own flesh and blood.”-The Guardian 

18053047

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

“In the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend’s life-threatening illness.”-Harper Collins Publishers

13479780

Landry Park by Bethany Hagen

“Sixteen-year-old Madeline Landry is practically Gentry royalty. Her ancestor developed the nuclear energy that has replaced electricity, and her parents exemplify the glamour of the upper class. As for Madeline, she would much rather read a book than attend yet another debutante ball. But when she learns about the devastating impact the Gentry lifestyle—her lifestyle—is having on those less fortunate, her whole world is turned upside down.  As Madeline begins to question everything she has been told, she finds herself increasingly drawn to handsome, beguiling David Dana, who seems to be hiding secrets of his own. Soon, rumors of war and rebellion start to spread, and Madeline finds herself at the center of it all. Ultimately, she must make a choice between duty—her family and the estate she loves dearly—and desire.”-Barnes and Noble

New Books 2/27/15

 

once

 

“The young boy, Felix, thought that he’d got the message because a whole carrot was in his soup, so he decided to leave the orphanage in search of his parents. But little did he know of the terror in the outside world, the Nazi control, and the constant danger.” –Historical Novel Society

 

StillBlue_jkt-c

 

Aria and Perry are determined to find this last safe haven from the Aether storms before Sable and Hess do—and they are just as determined to stay together.” –Good Reads

 

17559899

In the three years since the war ended, Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs—like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes—and how to pass the random home inspections by the Federal Bureau of Reformation. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow. That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And what’s worse, one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings…the only boy Ember has ever loved.” –Kristen Simmons

 

512SIYB0xjL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

“Timmy Failure. And his detective agency is on the verge of global domination. Global riches. Global fame. And yet the gods keep throwing him curveballs: for starters, academic probation. The coveted Miracle Report is the key to everything, including a good grade. It’s dirty business. It’s best you know nothing. But one thing is for sure: Timmy Failure will be triumphant again!”-Barnes and Noble

 

518o8DKdLLL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

“As a young adult in wartime Vienna, Georg Rauch helped his mother hide dozens of Jews from the Gestapo behind false walls in their top-floor apartment and arrange for their safe transport out of the country. His family was among the few who worked underground to resist Nazi rule. Then came the day he was drafted into Hitler’s army and shipped out to fight on the Eastern front as part of the German infantry–…”-Amazon

 

 

21469108

 

“There centuries later in a pleasant greendale, hiding the treacherous waters of Golden Beck that take Anna, who they call a witch. There on the other side of the world as a mad poet watches the waves and knows the horrors the hide, and far into the future as Keir Bowman realises his destiny. Each takes their next step in life. None will ever go back to the same place. And so, their journeys begin…”-Marcus Sedwick

Merlin(RF)

“Forced into an uneasy alliance, Jason and Merlin are sucked into a web of deceit, intrigue, and murder in a race to outwit and outrun Merlin’s ancient nemesis, the evil sorceress Morgana LaFay, a gang of drug smugglers, and a 500-year-old Chinese necromancer. It’s a race against time to complete their quest before an army of dragons is unleashed on a vulnerable and unsuspecting 21stcentury world.”-Daniel Diehl

22171558

Two sisters. One mysterious boy…Told in alternating points of view by a wide cast of characters, Twisted Fate is a tensely wrought psychological thriller, perfect for fans of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.”-Harper Collins Publishers

17210598

“In many ways the story is more allegorical – a horrific parody of a reality TV show in which the six victims are observed through cameras and microphones and given “games” to play for reward or punishment.”-The Guardian 

17516ca2d2a275f5973e5f4b86d3fe4c

“A YA thriller about a teenage girl who discovers that her father is at the helm of an organization providing dangerous false messaging to society about global warming and other issues.”-Good Reads

 

 

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

5ithThough named after a beautiful queen, Cassiopeia prefers to go by Cassie. She grew up like any normal kid. But in those few years, the Earth is attacked by aliens. Not green aliens or huge eyed aliens, but aliens that look just like any other human, and they didn’t just attack once and wage a war. The Others, attack in waves. After the first wave there were no lights. After the second wave, only the lucky survived. After the third, only the unlucky survived. When the fourth wave hit, the only rule that applies is; trust no one. The fifth wave is coming,and Cassie must rescue the little brother that was taken from her.

This book was a quintessential mix of mystery, drama, romance, humor and action. It makes sure that you know the feeling of the characters and their views on the situation. It is very interesting because it shows how even if you might be the only human alive in the universe, there is still hope. The author made sure to show that both men and women have equal power, which I thought was really cool. This is one of the few books that shows the equality between men and women. The intense circumstances may raise confusion, for example in one part of the book, Cassie is living with another person. Rick Yancey potrays her feelings as conflicted between safety and mistrust. While I was reading that part, I was very confused about whether that character was a good person or not. But as I moved through the next chapters, it became very clear.

I loved this book because of the humor, especially in the first few pages. It starts of hilarious and only gets better. I found it cool how the author mixed the humor and the action in a way that kept you on the edge, yet laughing at the same time.

I picked this book up because my friend, a great book lender, told me that this was my kind of book. She just handed it over and I thought, why not?

I kept reading this book because of its grip on the reader. Once I started reading, I couldn’t stop. The mystery about what was to come and the humor was just capturing.

I would give this book to anyone who loves romance, mystery, war/action, aliens, sci-fi, humor or all. This is a great book which I think anyone with even the slightest interest in reading, would love.

Reviewed by Prathista