Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Percy-Jackson-The-Lightning-Thief-Original-CoverThe Lightning Thief, the first book of the Percy Jackson series, is written by Rick Riordan. He has also written two other series, one about Egyptian mythology and the other about Greek as well as Roman mythology.  The Lightning Thief is a fantasy fiction, revolving around Greek Mythology. Riordan uses the three powerful Greek gods: Zeus, Poseidon, and Hades as well as the Titan Kronos to play major roles in this novel. This fictional book is based on a dyslexic 6th grade boy, finding out that he is a half-blood, meaning his father is a god, however his mother is a human mortal. This boy, named Percy Jackson, finds out that he is not a normal human. He is taken to a camp to be trained to face evils that he will face in the future. As the title states the Lightning Thief, this book is about a thief who stole the Lightning Bolt, a symbol of power, from the Greek god, Zeus, in order to ignite a significant war against the powerful gods. The ending of this novel, is left at a cliff-hanger as the thief is known only to Percy. The overall theme of this book is associated with the motif of identity. Riordan suggests that the theme of the novel is: identity should be recognized as life progresses, rather than at rough times of life. This fictional book talks about a young boy and his ambiguity of his reality. This novel is really interesting as a boy in middle school finds his real parents and sets out on adventurous journey to help a god. This is an action packed book which ensures that the reader doesn’t get bored at any point of the plot. The only question that this book would raise in a reader, is, “What happens next?” By ending the plot with a cliff-hanger, Riordan compels the reader to continue reading the next book in the series. In my opinion, this book lacks nothing. It is both relatable as well as action-filled. By visualizing the plot of the novel, I personally find it amusing to read this book. I love this book, because it is fascinating to portray in my mind. As the plot deepens, so does my attention to detail as I visualize the images of the plot in my mind. The book talks about the strength that each god posses, and their power granted to their children. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in action-filled novels.

 

 I picked up this fictional book, because it had a displayed a contrasting and interesting juxtaposition of an innocent boy in a dangerous world. The novel implied a relatable yet an engaging tone as suggested by the adventurous almost dangerous cover. I selected this novel, because of both the peculiar and the conceptual title, The Lightning Thief. Finally, I chose this novel, due to the vast majority of my friends and peers recommending it. I was genuinely drawn into the novel because it was fascinating to me. Not only was it easy to comprehend, but also this book was extremely relatable to me and displayed to me that even though school and life gets rough, just seek comfort by surrounding yourself with people that give you positive influence in your life. This book was also exceptionally easy to visualize the scenes in my mind, which in turn made it better for me to effortlessly understand the entire plot. I would give this fictional book to anyone interested in reading action and adventurous books. People who are interested in fantasy fiction and greek mythology would love reading this book. This text could be given to anyone as it is easy visualize the plot.

Reviewed by Sam Choppala

Advertisements

New Books 2/27/15

 

once

 

“The young boy, Felix, thought that he’d got the message because a whole carrot was in his soup, so he decided to leave the orphanage in search of his parents. But little did he know of the terror in the outside world, the Nazi control, and the constant danger.” –Historical Novel Society

 

StillBlue_jkt-c

 

Aria and Perry are determined to find this last safe haven from the Aether storms before Sable and Hess do—and they are just as determined to stay together.” –Good Reads

 

17559899

In the three years since the war ended, Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs—like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes—and how to pass the random home inspections by the Federal Bureau of Reformation. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow. That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And what’s worse, one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings…the only boy Ember has ever loved.” –Kristen Simmons

 

512SIYB0xjL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

“Timmy Failure. And his detective agency is on the verge of global domination. Global riches. Global fame. And yet the gods keep throwing him curveballs: for starters, academic probation. The coveted Miracle Report is the key to everything, including a good grade. It’s dirty business. It’s best you know nothing. But one thing is for sure: Timmy Failure will be triumphant again!”-Barnes and Noble

 

518o8DKdLLL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

“As a young adult in wartime Vienna, Georg Rauch helped his mother hide dozens of Jews from the Gestapo behind false walls in their top-floor apartment and arrange for their safe transport out of the country. His family was among the few who worked underground to resist Nazi rule. Then came the day he was drafted into Hitler’s army and shipped out to fight on the Eastern front as part of the German infantry–…”-Amazon

 

 

21469108

 

“There centuries later in a pleasant greendale, hiding the treacherous waters of Golden Beck that take Anna, who they call a witch. There on the other side of the world as a mad poet watches the waves and knows the horrors the hide, and far into the future as Keir Bowman realises his destiny. Each takes their next step in life. None will ever go back to the same place. And so, their journeys begin…”-Marcus Sedwick

Merlin(RF)

“Forced into an uneasy alliance, Jason and Merlin are sucked into a web of deceit, intrigue, and murder in a race to outwit and outrun Merlin’s ancient nemesis, the evil sorceress Morgana LaFay, a gang of drug smugglers, and a 500-year-old Chinese necromancer. It’s a race against time to complete their quest before an army of dragons is unleashed on a vulnerable and unsuspecting 21stcentury world.”-Daniel Diehl

22171558

Two sisters. One mysterious boy…Told in alternating points of view by a wide cast of characters, Twisted Fate is a tensely wrought psychological thriller, perfect for fans of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.”-Harper Collins Publishers

17210598

“In many ways the story is more allegorical – a horrific parody of a reality TV show in which the six victims are observed through cameras and microphones and given “games” to play for reward or punishment.”-The Guardian 

17516ca2d2a275f5973e5f4b86d3fe4c

“A YA thriller about a teenage girl who discovers that her father is at the helm of an organization providing dangerous false messaging to society about global warming and other issues.”-Good Reads

 

 

Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

AGoT_UK_Current_2668In the story, a Game Of Thrones by George Martin, the plot lies within the family of Winterfell, the Starks. There is Eddard Stark, his wife Catelyn, their sons Robb, Bran, and Rickon. They also have two daughters, Sansa and Arya. There is a half-brother by the name of Jon Snow. While Jon goes to the Wall, to help defend the kingdom, Eddard and his daughters go to King’s Landing because Eddard must now serve king Robert Baratheon. There they willl face their greatest enemies and must fight to live.

The book is very interesting because it gives us a possible insight as to what life in the medieval times would have been like. The book raises issues about how corrupt kings could be.

I kept on reading because at every page there was a new character and a plot twist. Characters who were friends would suddenly turn on each other, kings fought each other and many more twists like that came up it this story.

In my opinion this book was amazing. I really liked all the plot twists and all the different types characters. I especially enjoyed the fight scenes and tournaments because they had to fight with armor and swords and spears. There were no guns, just traditional fighting. I would recommend it to someone who likes fiction, medieval times, and crazy plot twists.

by Oleon

The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle

51G05QcGZELThe Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle depicts the emotional and perilous journey of a unicorn who seeks the truth aboutwhether or not she is the last of her kind. She encounters mortals who are both kind and selfish along her travels, and for the first time she begins to understand what it feels like to be a mortal. Each of the characters are very memorable in what they have to offer to the reader and the story, and there will be lines of dialogue that will echo in your mind for ages. I was in awe of how mature and philosophical the author portrayed the subject of unicorns, which I thought would be portrayed as a childish and playful being. This book is a favorite to me, and I would recommend it to anyone who is curious  enough to read this enchanting story.

Reviewed by Jalen Greene