The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

the language of flowers cover imageSummary: Victoria has spent most of her childhood in foster-care. She has problems with connecting to people and messed up the one chance she had at having a family. Through her relationship with Elizabeth, she learns the meanings that flowers were give during Victorian times. When she is emancipated at the age of 18, she finds herself on the street with nowhere to go. She makes a connection with a busy florist who needs help and recognizes Victoria’s unique gift for finding the perfect flowers for customers. Victoria chooses the flowers based on the customer’s emotional needs and they find that their wishes are answered.

While working with the florist Victoria reconnects with someone from her past and is able to confront her secret and set out to make it right and finally find the happiness she has longed for.

Why I picked it up: It was recommended to me by a couple of close friends.

Why I kept reading it: Victoria is a really interesting character. Most people would give up on her but she loved plants and photography and is interested in art like I am. I wanted to find out if she would finally find the family that she so desperately wanted.

Who I would give it to next: I’m sharing it with all my friends who like a good coming-of-age story.

Reviewed by Mrs. Accorinti

