Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Summary: The final book in The Hunger Games trilogy, teenage heroine Katniss Everdeen embarks on one last adventure. Picking up from where the previous sequel ended, Katniss sets out, along with the other rebels, to destroy the Capitol. Her journey consists of tragedy and peril, but was an experience in which Katniss greatly matured.

Why I picked it up: The last two novels were absolutely amazing and captivating. I had to find out what happened to Katniss and if the rebels would defeat the Capitol. Of course, once I picked it up, it didn’t leave my hands until I had read the very last page.

Why I kept reading it: Suzanne Collins’ style of writing, as seen in all three of her novels, is to end a chapter with a phrase that pretty much forces you to continue reading. It definitely worked. She is a master of suspense. Also, since this was the third book, I wasn’t still deliberating whether or not I liked these characters. I was already very much attached to all of them, and I desperately wanted to know what would happen to them. Stylistic-wise, Collins isn’t very fantastic in using symbols or metaphors or some other literary effect aside from keeping the reader hooked. What she is good at, is creating these characters that feel so real in our minds that they stay there. We forget that she’s talking about a fictional future in her novels, because her characters are so full of life. Most importantly, they reflect real people because they are constantly making mistakes, allowing the reader to identify with them. This was a great novel to read when I was stressed, because it just whisked me away to another world where the characters are suffering far worse than having to write an essay. The ending, I did not particularly like, because it seemed a very dull finale after everything, but I understand that Collins was trying to maintain a realistic plot. Overall, Mockingjay was a very emotional novel for those who read the previous two books, and even though Collins isn’t the best writer and even though the ending was a bit disappointing, I still very much admire her for creating a fictional world with fictional characters that do not seem fictional at all.

Who I would give it to next: After I read it, I gave it to my younger sister. She LOVED it.

Reviewed by Tiffany C.

Leave a Reply

