Blank Confession by Pete Hautman

Cover of the book, Blank Confession by Pete HautmanSummary: A high school kid walks into a police station, unannounced. He doesn’t say anything, but Detective George Rawls, suspects murder. As the boy tells his story, it becomes obvious that he is not who he appears to be.

 

Why I picked it up: Initially, it was the cover that attracted my attention. There was a boy, sitting in an interrogation room, and I wondered what had happened. It suggested a thriller, a mystery, one that would keep me hooked until the very end.

 

Why I kept reading it: The plot develops slowly, but because it takes place in the stereotypical school setting, I could connect to parts of it. This, and wanting to know what happens, kept me reading until the end.

 

Who would I give it to next: I would give it to just about any high school student. The story has the feel-good theme of triumphing over bullies. The end is a bit more extreme than most would go, but some people likely will wish they could do something similar and so can connect to it.

Leave a Reply

