The Pact by Jodi Picoult

Summary: Chris and Emily were together ever since they were toddlers. As they grew older their relationship began to move from friendship to romance. Their families were really close and they were both liked in school. Everything seemed to be perfect until one midnight Emily and Chris’s parents were called to the emergency room. Emily was dead and Chris was lying on a hospital dead covered in blood. The book was written in from the past all the way to the attempted suicide of Chris and Emily. At the end we find out that Emily became pregnant but decided not to tell Chris because she knows that he’ll end up marrying her. So Emily asked Chris to kill her. Chris finally agreed because he hated seeing Emily hurt. Emily died by her hand putting it on top of Chris’s, which was holding a gun, and pulling the trigger.

Why I picked it up: I picked the book up because I have heard from a lot of my friends recommended the book to me.

Why I kept reading it: I kept reading the book because it was a really good book. The way the book was written was very detailed and in general the book was just beautifully written. It was also very realistically written. Jodi Picoult fearlessly charged the sensitive topic of depression and teen suicide.

Who would I give it to next: I would give it to anybody who is mature enough to read such a book filled with sensitive topics. I would probably give it to my older sister.

Leave a Reply

