The Second Summer of the Sisterhood by Ann Brashares

book coverAs another school year comes to an end, children part for the summer.  Ann Brashares’ novel, The Second Summer of the Sisterhood, follows the adventures of four best friends’ Bridget Vreeland, Lena Kaligaris, Tibby Tomko-Rollins, and Carmen, through their summer apart.  The novel focuses on the girl’s relationship with one another, as well as the bonds they share with their mothers.  Bridget’s adventure involves traveling through Alabama to learn more about her deceased mother in her quest to rediscover herself.  Lena travels throughout Greece and her experiences include her relationship with Kostos, coping with her grandfather’s death, and discovering a deep secret about her mother’s past.  Tibby, short for Tabitha, discovers the significance of true friends when she leaves for a summer college program.  The last sister, Carmen, is the only girl that stays for summer.  As the novel progresses, Carmen’s relationship with her mother worsens.  Despite her efforts to improve the relationship, to her dismay, realizes that she is making the situation worse.  As the girls go their separate ways, the only thing that keeps their friendship strong and lasting, is the pair of pants that they share.  The novel is filled with drama, which any teenage girl can relate to.  With excitement, adventure, and mystery, it depicts a mother-daughter bond that is irreplaceable.

Reviewed by Vani M.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s